Your Support is Needed During This Critical Time. Click Here to Donate.

Skip To Main Content

Open daily from 9am–5pm (8pm on Thursdays)

8525 Garland Road, Dallas, Texas 75218

Summer of Sculpture

Seward Johnson "Celebrating the Familiar"

About This Event

Description:

From June 22–July 31, Seward Johnson’s “Celebrating the Familiar” exhibit is a collection of 25 sculptures throughout the garden.

More Details

Seward Johnson’s “Celebrating the Familiar” exhibit is a collection of 25 sculptures throughout the garden for Summer of Sculpture.

From June 22–July 31, the Dallas Arboretum debuts artist Seward Johnson’s “Celebrating the Familiar” exhibit, supported in part by the Dallas Tourism Public Improvement District, a collection of 25 sculptures throughout the garden as our summer exhibition. Following a career as a painter, Johnson began sculpting. Now, more than 450 of his life-size cast bronze figures are part of museums around the world and in private collections, as well as in Times Square and Rockefeller Center in New York City, Les Halles in Paris and Via Condotti in Rome.

Johnson’s first sculpture, Stainless Girl, won the grand prize in the U.S. Steel Design in Steel Competition. Later, his realistic bronze works won him accolades across the globe. His sculptures of humans performing familiar tasks in an ordinary life were meant to collect the “Beautiful Moments” in our lives. Johnson’s goal was not to just create figures performing routine tasks, but also to celebrate the familiar and to recognize the great value within. These familiar tasks can often seem burdensome, but they are part of what makes us human and connects us to others.

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, July 7 at -

Wednesday, July 8 at -

Thursday, July 9 at -

Friday, July 10 at -

Saturday, July 11 at -

Sunday, July 12 at -

Monday, July 13 at -

Tuesday, July 14 at -

Wednesday, July 15 at -

Thursday, July 16 at -

Friday, July 17 at -

Saturday, July 18 at -

Sunday, July 19 at -

Monday, July 20 at -

Tuesday, July 21 at -

Wednesday, July 22 at -

Thursday, July 23 at -

Friday, July 24 at -

Saturday, July 25 at -

Sunday, July 26 at -

Monday, July 27 at -

Tuesday, July 28 at -

Wednesday, July 29 at -

Thursday, July 30 at -

Friday, July 31 at -